Can anyone confirm this is just a bad battery?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm not too good with electronics but I had an issue today which I believe signals that my 3 year old battery needs to be replaced.

I was sitting in the local bus station parking lot waiting for a friend. I had the GPS still on and plugged in, my phone charging and the key turned to ACC while listening to music. Next thing I know the a dinging comes from the speakers and the dash display informs me that there was a charging system failure. Having had the same issue happen once after forgetting to unplug my OBD II bluetooth unit I was pretty sure the battery just needed a jump, so I managed to find someone with a jumpbox and got it started again.

However in the last hour after leaving my friends house I noticed that my coolant gauge didn't move off of cold over the course of the 15 minute drive and the rpms at 55mph were bouncing between 1500-2000 rpm every 10-15 seconds. When I noticed this I turned down the radio and listened for fluctuation in engine speed since I didn't notice a power surge and there was none. Then I turned on the heater and it worked just fine.

I'm assuming this just means my battery has a cell thats going bad?

Last edited:
Yes, the alternator is working because once started and driven the battery charges back up to around 14.5 volts. However if I leave the car sitting more than an hour, next time I go to start it the engine stumbles and the accompanying noise sounds like the starter struggling to turn over.

Use a multimeter and check the engine off battery voltage. If it reads less than 12v then you have a bum battery. Standing battery voltage should be 12.4-12.6v.

Any auto parts store will test a battery for free. Stop by one when you are running errands.

Dead cell.

Took it out for a drive, came back and after shutting off the vehicle I turned the key to ACC. Watched the dash display drop from 14.1 volts to 11.6 volts in under 30 seconds.