BMW LL01 alternate oils

Status
Not open for further replies.
There seem to be a few options for BMW long life oil. If the oil change interval sure to only 5000 miles are there are better options to use? On the lubrizol site Porsche c30 and vw 507 specs offer more coverage than LL01. https://online.lubrizol.com/relperftool/pc.html If LL01 is those qualities and long change intervals then there must be some excellent options with a shortened life/more frequent change interval. I have been using German Castro 0w-30. I'm an oil novice so any pointed advice or links are much appreciated.

Main thing about the LL-01 and 229.5 (Mercedes) euro specs are the minimum HTHS=3.5 they carry. That means they don't necessarily want you using SN GF-5 ILSAC 5w30's which are at HTHS=2.9 to 3.1, too low.
With one exception: LL-01 FE (Fuel Economy version) is allowed on some BMW engines. I saw a chart of engines where they allow it, and it covers many engines in the BMW history. It's HTHS is about what SN GF-5 full syn oils typically have, so I consider SN GF-5 0w-30 or 5w-30 full syn oils safe to use in some BMW engines. I can't remember where the permissible list of BMW engines allowed to use LL-01 FE oils was. No "M" engines at least.

If your BMW engine is listed as allowing LL01 FE, then go ahead and use SN GF-5 full synthetic 0w-30 or 5w-30 (any brand, Valvoline, Quaker State, etc.) in your engine for slightly shortened oil change intervals, because the lower HTHS allows it. You'll get a boost in fuel economy around 2% too, a bonus.

From Quattro Pete:

BMW_oil_type_by_engine_5_2009.png

Originally Posted By: oil_film_movies
Walmart's 5 quart jugs of Castrol 0w40 is hard to beat in price and meets all the euro specs.

+1

I service two M54 engines and an N52. I use Castrol 0w40 in all of them and they run great. Oil consumption even went down a bit compared to the BMW 5w30 that comes from the dealer. On the N52, the lifters were noticeably quieter as well with the 0w40.