Locating a detailer

Status
Not open for further replies.
I take care of my vehicles about the best I can. I detail about every piece of the vehicle I have laid eyes to and can get my hand a chemically treated cloth to.

Having said that, I am no pro.

My vehicles look great (to me) in low light situations and I want them to look good in mid summer high noon sun or under those high pressure sodium (or halogen) lights.

I seek a detailer who can correct rock chips and apply a polish to fill in or remove the fine swirling that is in the paint. They are pretty minor, I think, and could be called cobwebs or fine silk strands.

I have already contacted one body shop that used to have great commercials and even had a nice car at the state fair.

I pretty much want this to be a one time deal.

I wash and wax pretty decently and used a clay bar for the first time in recent years.

My cars are a 2003 Silverado LT pewter metallic and a 06 Cobalt LS black (I don't know the exact name if it is one of those fancy colors like dark onyx or w/e).

Thanks

Detailers will vary by location. If you know of a small dealer and like the shape of the vehicles they always have on display, you can buddy up with the owner and get the name of the person who does the work. A lot of the small dealers in my area contract out the work. They can't afford to have a detailer in shop.

Or Google or craigslist. There are quite a few detailing shops and one man show's popping up these days. Quality of work will vary, but always ask for pictures of work done before agreeing to anything. Get familiar with some of the detailing terms and get ready when they do a once over on you vehicle. If it sounds like [censored] coming out of their mouth, it is [censored]. Walk away.