At what RPM do you typically drive?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a pretty tame driver, so I typically drive around 2,500 RPM. Once in a while I'll take it just over 5,000 RPM to hear the VTEC crossover, only after the car is warmed up of course. I hit redline once which is 7,200 RPM in the Accord equipped with the K24z3, but felt guilty after so haven't done that since
wink.gif

Whatever RPMs equate to the speed limit at the time. Occasionally I'll give 'er the beans on a freeway onramp to blow out any cobwebs.

Last edited:
I have the Camry 6 speed and it often goes down to 1600 rpm. I can keep it there if I'm gentle with the gas pedal. Engine is very unresponsive at that rpm. I don't like it. It rarely hits 3000 rpm. Think I might need to drive a little more aggressively to get the computer to learn a little sportiness.

I usually shift around 4000rpm. My daily commute is a constant ~4000-4200rpm cruise in top gear on the highway for 20 minutes. Once in a while I go past redline by about 500rpm to almost the rev limiter without bouncing off.

Last edited:
I usually cruise at about 70mph which is 2k rpm on the malibu and 2,400 on the taurus. Malibu rev's between 2k and 3.2k when shifting and the taurus never really goes over 2.5k

Last edited:
Cruising, whatever it needs to maintain speed.

On ramps I usually don't need to get the Focus over 3K to get up to speed. The Cherokee with it's tired engine and oversized tires will often see 4500.

And on a few of the hills in PA towing my popup camper the Jeep was cruising at 4K for a minute or two straight.

Originally Posted By: Nick1994
Everyday my car gets revved out all the way. Stops at about 5,700 then shifts.

I can't help but think of the fuel waisted.

I typically go the speed limit, I'm not the impatient type who has to get where I'm going 2-3 mins early. We have this back road tho by the house, it's pretty much flat and perfectly straight for about a good mile.