Any stock experts here ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been buying stock for the last 3 months on a very small budget ($300.00)
So far I have the following
MDVX 37 shares medical
BRG 4 shares real estate
NOG 17 shares oil and gas
XXII 10 shares plant biotech
TDW 11 shares offshore energy support
XRX 9 shares Xerox
INVT 4 shares licensing
NAK 11 shares mining

Any comments or recommendations?

What I notice about your investments is its greatly inefficient to buy a spread of stocks with a just small amount of funds, because its terribly inefficient to do so if you pay a commission for each trade. Small amounts should be invested in just one or two stocks, or, better yet, a mutual fund or an index fund to save trading fees. That way you can get great sector diversity at a minimal cost.

Originally Posted By: gfh77665
What I notice is its greatly inefficient to buy a spread of stock with a small amount of funds, because its terribly inefficient to do so if you pay a commission for each trade.

This.

Unless you have many thousands to invest, individual stocks are inefficient.

Index funds are the way to go. I put money into VTSAX every two weeks. VTI is the same in an ETF format.

I used to be in the stock market. Of course not a big player but I prefer to invest in myself because my returns are far better
smile.gif

I did score many years ago on Ford when it went to $2 a share and rolled the dice and held it until it hit the teens. I don't like gambling with money unless it's a small amount. But with Ford I got very lucky. Best payday ever and I still buy a Ford whenever I can.