6.7 PSD why is 10W30 not approved for trailer tow

Status
Not open for further replies.
Newbie here, I have a 2015 Ford F250 PSD and tow a 7,000lb. TT 6-7 times a year. Tow on the Coast, in the Sierras and Cascades. I have 18,000 miles on the PSD and after the first OCI switched to Motorcraft 15W40. I'm approaching my next OCI and have a dilemma. Stay with 15W40 which seems to be "old school", go to synthetic 5W40 which is "spendy" or return the factory fill 10W30. Why does Ford consider trailer towing in excess of 1,000 miles severe service requiring 5W40? Can I run 10W30 year round?

If it were me, I'd say yes. The likelihood of something going wrong and Ford finding out about it are pretty remote, but that's your choice to make. Do they allow the 15w-40 for towing or just the 5w-40? If they want just the 5w-40 for towing, well, that's nuts.

IMO this recommendation is a blanket recommendation that covers even the F350, F450 which has GCWR of 40k. Your setup is 13-14k.
I would say 10W30 is fine for what you are doing, but its your warranty.

Ford corporate gives the impression of being nuts on this, especially since heavy commercial diesels have no issues using 10w30 to move 80,000 lb of truck and cargo from sea to sea, Canada to Mexico, etc. Year round, summer or winter. Almost gives the impression that the PStroke is a inferior engine. I didn't say it was inferior, just Ford's idea of things can give that impression. Many of the HDEO 10w30 oils, especially the syn blends which can be had at very good pricing, are more than adequate for serious working diesels. They have been the factory fill and recommendation of every heavy diesel engine OEM for several years. Even the heavy diesel folks have the new 10w30 CK-4 oils showing up on their approved oil lists.