Oil filter with multiple oil changes

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: salcuta88
Let's say you use your Fram Ultra or Mobil 1 EP for 2 or even 3 oil changes...
Do you remove the filter and drain out the old oil from the filter as well,

Yes, I do. About a cup runs out. I then fill it with new.

Originally Posted By: 440Magnum
Leave it on. The filter gasket isn't made to seal, come off, and then seal again.

Why do you say this? I've been doing this for over 25 years. I have NEVER had one leak.

As an aircraft mechanic, I always cut open used oil filters (Most A&P's do).
I started running oil filters every 3-4 oil changes in the early 90's after repeatedly cutting multiple oil filters open and never finding any significant debris in them.

Originally Posted By: Doublehaul

My maintenance plan was simple...I ran Mobil 1 EP with a Fram Ultra filter to 15000 miles. Drained the oil, left the filter and ran another 15000 miles. My filter saw an honest 30000 miles. At each 30000 mile interval I would change the oil, oil filter, and air filter.

This sounds ideal. In my experience, I see no issues at all with this scenario.

I always remove the filter and let the oil out...wipe the flange on the block clean and re install...the gasket on any oil filter is very robust and does not leak or wear out...

I also remove and drain the filter, then reuse it. It gets a new filter every other oil change. I have never had one leak.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: Triple_Se7en
Originally Posted By: hatt
Originally Posted By: Triple_Se7en
Originally Posted By: salcuta88
Let's say you use your Fram Ultra or Mobil 1 EP for 2 or even 3 oil changes...

Do you remove the filter and drain out the old oil from the filter as well, or just drain the engine and let the little amount of oil in the filter mix in with the new engine oil?