Driving in the dark with no lights syndrome

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am now officially calling it a syndrome. I see so many people driving around in the dark with no lights on it's ridiculous! I don't get it. How can you be driving in your vehicle in the dark and not realize you don't have your lights on? And the cops do absolutely nothing about it. They should be ticketing these idiots! I always flash these people my brights (because my headlights can't be turned off), but most of the time, they don't understand why and they just keep driving with their lights off...how brain dead do you have to be to do this?

Agree. A lot of brain dead idiots out there. I spent 3 hours in the car the other night and I saw at least 10 people, on the interstate, at night, without headlights on. As to the police not doing anything, I made it a point when I was a patrol officer to pull these people over. They would have a deer in the headlights look on their face when you asked them why they got pulled over. I would then inform them that it has been customary, for quite some time, to drive at night WITH the head lights on.

I think it has more to do with auto head lights than anything. I once pulled over a guy that had like 30K miles on his 2 year old car, who had no idea that he had been driving around for two years, without head lights/ tail lights, at night. His car had daytime running lights and he just assumed that he had auto head lights. He almost wanted to argue with me, until I told him to get out and look at his tail lights, that were off, and his head lights, that were a lot less bright than they were supposed to be.

Didn't you already have a thread on this not that long ago?

If not, we've hashed this one out a few times. Most of it's braindeadness, the rest is due to constantly backlit dashboards. And automatic headlights which don't work so well (incompletely programming).