DirecTV Now (Competitor to Sling)

Status
Not open for further replies.
I think it could catch on. I am actually an installer of Directv and Dish. Luckily I am retired and doing it part time now. This will be the end of the jobs for installers as time goes on. BUT I am not sure it will actually work out UNLESS at all levels the internet is built up to handle the traffic this will create. You will have so called blazing fast internet but when millions of people are streaming TV that used to be watched on satellite or over the air TV you will notice the fast speeds slowing to a crawl. Video will pixelate, stop, buffer a lot unless we create more carrying capacity for internet signals. Then our internet plans need to be beefed up to allow watching this much TV. Stream a program off internet and then look at what your demand was the next day to watch that. 4 gigs or more. Do that day after day and some carriers will be billing you for going over your plan.

Not saying I am against this. It will happen and it will be cool. Some internet carriers just may not be really ready for it yet. Some carriers like cable companies may be opposed to it because it takes from their own offering of TV services.

Not impressed by this, or Sling for that matter. This is just a "repackage" of cable/sat. You are still paying for channels you don't want or watch. All this could go away by allowing customers to choose only the individual channels they want. There's no technical reason cable/sat providers can't do this, so it's strictly a matter of greed on their part and of the companies that own the networks. For now internet based packages like this are the future, but over time they will get more expensive like cable/sat and we will be going through the whole cord cutting exercise again.

I guess it's inevitable. Instead of cable or satellite TVs lowering their prices to compete with streaming devices, TV over internet will keep raising cost until they equal out.