XS-Big Dot Sights

Status
Not open for further replies.
About (2) weeks ago I purchased my 1st ever Glock firearm. I was undecided between the G17 & G19. I chose the Gen4 G17. I wanted the model that started the Glock revolution. I have plenty of time to buy the G19 later.
I knew upon arrival that those cheap factory sights had to geaux. After a lot of research, I chose the XS-Big Dot sights. I chose the model with the rear sight without the tritium strip. Does anyone else here have these sights? Opinions, please?

308fl9v.jpg

I have read they provide faster sight acquisition, but I have no practical experience with them. I am looking at the TRUGLO® TFX Pistol Sights for my G19. Welcome to the Glock club!

I've used them a few times. I think they have great windage acquisition (because you can quickly line up the big dot and small mark, vertically), but I find it hard to get a good elevation acquisition. I suppose it would take some getting used to. I don't prefer them, but they're certainly good quality sights.

Originally Posted By: Hokiefyd
I've used them a few times. I think they have great windage acquisition (because you can quickly line up the big dot and small mark, vertically), but I find it hard to get a good elevation acquisition. I suppose it would take some getting used to. I don't prefer them, but they're certainly good quality sights.

I can see the issue with the front elevation. I would have probably gone to something like a straight 8 sight setup from Heinie.

I absolutely despise them. Some folks like them, but not me. Try making a 35 yard shot when you dont know exactly where to put the front sight on the rear sight. They are 7 yard and in combat sights, nothing more.

Originally Posted By: Robenstein

I can see the issue with the front elevation. I would have probably gone to something like a straight 8 sight setup from Heinie.