Power Steering UOA - 03 GS430, Mobil 1 ATF, 16K mi

Status
Not open for further replies.
I wasn't even sure which group to post this one in, I have never done a Power Steering UOA before.

So here is the deal: I took my 2003 Lexus GS430 in to have brakes done. My son has a good friend he trusts for automotive work. He works for a Honda dealer, and is actually allowed to work on friends' cars using the dealer facilities.

Anyway, in addition to the brake work, he gave the vehicle a general inspection. He stated "Your power steering fluid is black. It needs to be changed". I told him to just do the brake work and I would take care of the power steering fluid myself. Looking at the fluid through the reservoir, it does look pretty dark; but when I pulled the top (with little built-in plastic dipstick) and put some drops on a paper towel, it wasn't that bad! It was reddish brown.

I told my son that these mechanics are taught to automatically recommend fluid replacement if the fluid is not perfectly red, as these sorts of services are a money maker. However, to prove to my son that his mechanic friend is a bit overzealous, I told him I would have the fluid analyzed. He bet me $10 the analysis would come out as being bad. The fluid in this UOA was previously changed about 3 years ago, and has about 16K miles on it. So: Do I owe my son $10? Obviously copper is up there, but I have no idea if this is normal or not.

What is the consensus of the forum?

I dont think you can prove the copper has any relevance and can prove any type of wear. While not overly accurate, most people never change PS fluid ever, and never have issues..
I change mine once per year, I just attach hose and turn wheel.. it flushes out old fluid and new fluid in. 3 years and 16k is nothing.. I would warrant to say the fluid is easily still good. Does the owners manual advise if or when to change the power steering fluid?