Lube Tech Doing Your Airbag Recall Repair?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I worked as a tire/ lube tech. I was conscientious and looking forward to advancing my career. An injury made me think twice.

I have removed my own airbags to fix stuff in the steering column. Not much to it. It's an inside job; no corrosion. Fasteners come right apart.

Bagging on people b/c they make $10 an hour doing HONEST WORK and questioning the quality is NOT COOL.

Originally Posted By: tenderloin
People making far more than $10 an hour designed and spec'd a system that is failing...

And your perfect......
smirk.gif

Originally Posted By: eljefino
I worked as a tire/ lube tech. I was conscientious and looking forward to advancing my career. An injury made me think twice.

I have removed my own airbags to fix stuff in the steering column. Not much to it. It's an inside job; no corrosion. Fasteners come right apart.

Bagging on people b/c they make $10 an hour doing HONEST WORK and questioning the quality is NOT COOL.

Sorry to offend, I was one of those people making the $10.55 an hour working evenings at Canadian Tire when I went to mechanics class during the day doing an 1,800 hour (about 1 year 10 months of school) for a DEP (French for a Professional Diploma in Quebec).

I have been on all sides of what I am discussing as you are, the mixed emotions in what I am writing about is me relaying the Quebec experience in words, so I am really hard to follow and I apologize.

I can only really say people are being exploited, careers are being diminished, while a garage owner gets fatter, while the owner of the car has fewer guarantees a lube tech can pull off this simple repair, and my words are coming out a bit jaundiced and it would take quite a while to turn around what I said to actually make sense.

And as a student I myself was glad to do drum brakes in the evenings making minimum wage to learn and grow.