Dorman Rear Lateral Arms

Status
Not open for further replies.
Need to replace on my 99 Toyota Avalon. Bushings shot and I can not stand the noise. Factory arms are about $125 per side. Only aftermarket I can find are Dorman at $50 per side. I am inclined to go factory because I have no I experience with Dorman suspension parts. Any suggestions? Thanks.

Dorman always seems to be hit or miss. People either say their stuff is as good as OE replacements, or complete junk.

I generally try to avoid dorman stuff. Too many people with bad experiences.

Looks like Moog and Beck Arnley both make/rebox them. Look on Rockauto.com.

If you're going to keep the car I'd shy away from Dorman. Especially when you have to pay for an alignment.

Last edited:
Rock only sells Dorman. Moog is available only in their value line (RK) and BA is made in Taiwan. Bet their isn't a spits worth of difference among the three of them all selling at $35-40. Think I will go factory.

OE is the way to go.
thumbsup2.gif

Originally Posted By: artbuc
Rock only sells Dorman. Moog is available only in their value line (RK) and BA is made in Taiwan. Bet their isn't a spits worth of difference among the three of them all selling at $35-40. Think I will go factory.

Do you know for a fact that the BA part is made in Taiwan? Maybe you already did this, but if you email them with the part number they'll tell you the COO.

Having said that, Taiwan has a far better track record of quality than China. I've received a couple BA parts that were from Taiwan that fit and worked well. Out of those three aftermarket choices I might give the BA part a shot.

Of course, you know the factory part will work, so no one would blame you for getting that part.

I saw multiple brands for your year/make on Rockauto. You're wrong about the quality. HUGE difference between "made in china" (Dorman) and "made in taiwan" BA.

Originally Posted By: stephen9666