auto insurance question

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have two cars. One is financed so I have to have full coverage on it.
The other car is paid for.
The paid for car is a 2004 Sentra with 168 K miles on it.
The wholesale value is between $900 and $1200.
So if it gets whacked they will total it out and that's the range of payment I will get.
So does it make sense to keep paying the extra $35.00 per month for full coverage?
I drive in metro Denver with a lot of traffic

It's worth a lot more than that. They don't go by trade in value.

My Camry was totaled this year. It's value was $3,950 if it didn't already have dents and faded paint. So they took off $500 for that and my car was valued at $3,450. 16 years old with 207k miles. I paid $2,100 for it 6-7 months prior. Buyback was $868 so I got $2,582 for it.

You're way late in dumping it!

Also if it gets whacked the liable party will pay, unless you have some goofy no-fault type law. So you're paying $35/mo against yourself wrecking it.

I wouldn't dump it. The last time I did something stupid like that I rasied the collision coverage deductible from $200 up to $500. And sure enough, within a year that car got hit and I was out that $450. When I investigated rates further at that time with USAA I found out there wasn't much difference in cost from $500 to $200 or even $200 to $50. So for years I kept the $50 on most of my cars.

My son did that same thing on a car I bought for him. It was probably worth $2,000 after I put $1200 into it for him. The car got totaled when it slid down a hill in a snow storm after being parked. I was furious when I found out he dropped the collision coverage. He told me the agent told him it was the smart thing to do. Yeah right.

Look at it this way $35.00 a month and if nothing happens you keep paying it but if you cancel it and something happens a week later you would be kicking yourself...Thats why they call it insurance..lol
I have the same problem..