Broken bolt from brake caliper Buick Park Ave

Status
Not open for further replies.
The car is a 97 Buick Park Ave that is near the end of its days due to rust and slight gas tank leak on top of tank. It was parked on the grass for a month and now moved to the garage and the left rear brake is stuck.
I was taking the brake apart to get the car driveable for cheap sell or junk yard when a bolt broke.
Removal of now broken bolt allows the caliper to swing up and then slide off its mount. It turned a few turns then broke so this caliper is going no where.
HhQOP9W.jpg

xtm3fYh.jpg

Anyone have any ideas on getting it out? I was thinking of drilling a hole through the caliper and accessing it from that side to finish unscrewing it with some sort of tool. Or maybe an ez out from the correct side? I've never used an ez out before so I am unsure.
Any help is appreciated.
Thx

Edit: By the way, I had someone push the parking brake while I watched the mechanism and it seemed OK to me which is why I am now inspecting the brake caliper..

Last edited:
I believe you should also be able to remove the upper mounting pin? It usually has a torx or hex head.

Remove the bracket off the car. I would use tweezers and if its toughly in there, use a torch and heat it up good, should help you remove it. Or maybe a socket?

Last edited:
Can you get a hacksaw in there from the bottom to cut the bolt flush with the caliper at the boot? Then you can remove the caliper to try drilling the bolt to try an e-z out.That would trash the boot but those are cheap.

Last edited:
IF an "ez out" is what I think it is, they often don't work, but they often do break off, and then you've got a hardened steel insert in the stub. I don't like them.

(Naturally, this is the only type of extractor readily available in Taiwan.)

The fluted straight edged extractors that you hammer in are better, but that's a pig of a location.