Advance Auto Parts, 0 for 4.

Status
Not open for further replies.
2 of the 4 things appear "cheap" to me.

I've had good luck with their rotors. I'm using them on 3 vehicles actually. As far as quality, I am assuming they'd be the same as all the other parts store brands. I am also not sure how their quality compares to brand names that are found on Rock Auto. Perhaps similar? Did you not torque your wheels to spec? That can cause warping.

I've read that their batteries were JCI made, but I saw a Deka Autocraft at a car show in Ohio last July so who knows. Either way, many folks have had great luck with both mentioned brands so perhaps you had a dud. Was your warranty up after a year? I've been using one in her Volvo since summer 2013.

With the DW filter, they appear well built, but are literally the cheapest thing possible. You could have stepped it up to a Fram Extra Guard for less than $2 more.

House brand suspension/ steering components scare me so no comment there.

Originally Posted By: JHZR2
Originally Posted By: slacktide_bitog
it's because you're buying low-quality economy tier parts, not because it's AAP
smile.gif

+1. I'm a good enough fan of the silver grade batteries versus the more expensive ones with thinner plates. The other stuff is junk and to be expected..

Hopefully you are aware that batteries with high(er) Cold Cranking Amps specification get there by using thinner plates, but higher in number (density), and typically carry a premium price.

There is also a practical limit to how close they can be to each other and how deeply they sit (ie the height dimension). A battery with plates that are further from each other and have a higher gap between the bottom of the plate and the case may last longer, due to a greater resistance to sulfation failure. That might be the battery with fewer and smaller plates.