Mobil-1 high milage now going SN??

Status
Not open for further replies.
I Just bought a jug of M1-HM 5w-20 from wally mart and noticed the jug now states that it is SN rated instead of SL.

My prior SL jug purchased just last OCI states ACEA A1/B1, API SL, jug code: 11016626A
New SL jug states ACEA A1/B1, API SN/SM, jug code: 11016H24A

Neither state energy conserving or have the API starbust.

This is my first time using this oil(in the 5w-20 flavor, lots of 5w-30 use), and perhaps I just got one of the last SL rated during the change over, but I wondered what this possibly means for the additive package? The SL is doing a great job of cleaning up from what I can see through the oil cap hole.

I noticed the same thing this weekend. The jug i was looking at also had ACEA A3 approval along with SN. Unfortunately i cannot remember the viscosity.

Originally Posted By: SOHCman
I Just bought a jug of M1-HM 5w-20 from wally mart and noticed the jug now states that it is SN rated instead of SL.

My prior SL jug purchased just last OCI states ACEA A1/B1, API SL, jug code: 11016626A
New SL jug states ACEA A1/B1, API SN/SM, jug code: 11016H24A

Neither state energy conserving or have the API starbust.

This is my first time using this oil(in the 5w-20 flavor, lots of 5w-30 use), and perhaps I just got one of the last SL rated during the change over, but I wondered what this possibly means for the additive package? The SL is doing a great job of cleaning up from what I can see through the oil cap hole.

Probably less Zinc and Phos

"Probably less Zinc and Phos"

Siiiiigh, this is the reason I get this oil...

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: wemay
I noticed the same thing this weekend. The jug i was looking at also had ACEA A3 approval along with SN. Unfortunately i cannot remember the viscosity.

Hmm, even the M1HM 5w-30 I have is ACEA A1/B1, time to go stalk the oil shelf...

That's a bummer but it was bound to happen.