Motorcraft Batteries

Status
Not open for further replies.
In the 1980's it was Delco-Remy batteries, now it seems to be Motorcraft. The battery in my 2014 Explorer went belly up today, it was almost 3 years old. The same thing happened to my 2010 FX4 at nearly 3 years old. I bought an AAP Autocraft Gold for the 2010 when it happened and I bought another AAP battery today for the Explorer. I have to say I love those AAP coupons. It reduced the price from $159 to $111 for a 850 CCA battery (the MC was only 650). The other thing I noticed (not sure of the significance) is the AAP battery was substantially heavier than the MC. I believe that Johnson Controls makes the batteries for AAP, not sure who is making MC these days. I do hope the two MC batteries in my PSD last longer than 2.8 years though...

I like the Johnson Controls product. I have no experience with Motorcraft batteries

ONCE a JC battery in my sister's Jeep "failed to hold a charge" and did so on month 35 of a 36 month free replacement period.
1) I had my receipt and they listened to my concise 2 sentence explanation (with voltages) and instantly gave me a new battery.
2) The counter girl who did the typing told me I didn't even need to have the receipt because they have it in their computer.
....She said most people don't keep their receipts.
....I recommend always keeping your receipts for this kind of thing.
3) The alternator had died (which she had replaced all without my knowledge) so I have no measure of the abuse that poor battery endured.
4) We're just glad it died when it did.

Since 1995 I select JC. Once they didn't have my size so I had to buy some brand with a stupid NASCAR on it. YUK!