I cleaned the intake valves on my DI engine

Status
Not open for further replies.
I got a check engine light a few weeks ago that the intake manifold went out on my 2013 VW GTI. It has just over 84K on it. Lots of highway miles from my wife.
I'm a semi mechanic by trade and was a mechanic at a Honda dealer before that. That being said, the job isn't difficult if you have the right tools and watch
a video on Youtube how to do it and have some competence. After I scraped all I could, I vacuumed, blew out the ports with compressed air and sprayed in
GM top engine cleaner and got it all looking new again. After I got it all back together, I test ran my car and changed the oil, spark plugs, gas filter and the air filter.
This is a pretty easy engine and car to do this procedure on.

Awesome! Ive done this on a few ecotec's! They weren't DI so they weren't as bad. Do you have an oil catch can installed? Thats helped my engines a lot!

Umm, was there supposed to be an 'after' picture?
confused.gif
I can take your word that the difference was amazing, but pictures are so much fun!

Originally Posted By: skyactiv
I got a check engine light a few weeks ago that the intake manifold went out on my 2013 VW GTI.

What does this mean?

The 'before' intake pic you posted doesn't look very bad.

Originally Posted By: gathermewool
I got a check engine light a few weeks ago that the intake manifold went out on my 2013 VW GTI.

What does this mean?

There's an intake manifold actuator that can fail.

OP, you should have called your local VW service center, as there is an extension to cover the manifold.

I also would not have recommended a valve cleaning; yours don't look that bad, but it is nice to do while you're in there.

Nice work!

Originally Posted By: KGMtech
Umm, was there supposed to be an 'after' picture?
confused.gif
I can take your word that the difference was amazing, but pictures are so much fun!