Rate this oil - Engen 5W-40

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys

I'm not an oil expert and need some advice. I normally use Castrol Edge 5W-40 on our cars , as its the best I can get my hands on for a reasonable price here in South Africa, but recently prices have shot up.

A local oil company , Engen , has on the market a 5W-40 that I can get for about 30% cheaper if I buy in bulk. I have no idea how good this oil is. I do have the datasheet , the specs of it are below :

The specs of the South African Castrol 5W-40 are below :

So , are they comparable ? If not , would you say that the Engen is worth it if 30% cheaper ?

Thanks in advance.
Thavash

Engen sounds like kind of a cutesy name for a motor oil.
Based upon the limited data given, the Engen is a little thicker than the Castrol.
What specs and certs are claimed for these two oils?
That would certainly be a factor in deciding whether the Engen is suitable for your application.
If the Engen meets some reasonable recognized specs, then I'd say it's certainly a good choice if it's 70% the cost of the Castrol.

From their PDF data sheet:
Performance Level API SN/CF, ACEA A3/B4, VW 502.00/505.00, MB-Appoval 229.5, Meets BMW LL-01 and Porsche standards.

It's listed on current Mercedes Benz BeVo list ... seems to be a legit product and if it meets the specs for the vehicles you planning on using it ... I say go for it.

Note that the Engen product is high SAPS (1.0% ash) compared to the Castrol being mid-SAPS (0.8% ash). They are designed for different applications so can't really be compared in terms of which is 'best'. You need to decide which best meets the needs of the cars you want to use it in.

Apart from my Toyota 86, the others cars I would use the oil in are family sedans ( Honda Accord 2.4 and Hyundai Sonata 2.4 ). I'm looking for long engine life first , and best possible fuel economy. What impact does a high SAPS number have on an engine compared to a mid SAPS number?