Clay, Polish, Wax OR Clay, Cleaner Wax

Status
Not open for further replies.
We have a 2008 with Gray Mica paint. It's in decent shape but I'd like to use a Polish or Cleaner Wax on it but not do a compound step.

Would it be better to do Meg's Clay -> Meg's Ultimate Polish -> Meg's Ultimate Liquid Wax -OR- Meg's Clay -> Meg's Cleaner Wax?

I'm new to this so any thoughts or tips are appreciated.

I already own the Meg's Clay and Ultimate Liquid Wax.

Clay first, make sure you use a lubricant for the Clay and THROW THE CLAY AWAY IF YOU DROP IT. I like to break the clay up into smaller pieces so I'm not out a whole bar if I butterfinger it.

Polish followed by wax will always give you a better result than a cleaner wax.

I did the Clay -> Ult Polish -> Ult Wax on a gray Lexus I had and it looked amazing. Even a year later the water would still bead and a rain shower would make the car look like it went through a car wash. I'm glad I took the time to run through all 3 steps.

Originally Posted By: 09_GXP
I did the Clay -> Ult Polish -> Ult Wax on a gray Lexus I had and it looked amazing. Even a year later the water would still bead and a rain shower would make the car look like it went through a car wash. I'm glad I took the time to run through all 3 steps.

Good to hear! I'll go that route. Did you apply the polish and wax by hand? That's what I'll be doing. Will the Ultimate Polish stain trim?

Depends on the paint. A cleaner wax is just abrasive enough to get rid of things like tar splatter and light sap or bug grime.

A dedicated polish could have more bite depending on the brand. In some cases a polish can have enough effect to remove light swirls.

If time is a factor, clay and then cleaner wax is fine for most people.

But if you have time to polish before wax then you may also have time to do a light compounding.