Mobil 1 10w40 HM

Status
Not open for further replies.
Virgin Sample tested by Blackstone on 8/16/16
Taken from an unopened quart that was shaken well before pouring into sample container.

Aluminum / 0
Chromium / 0
Iron / 0
Copper / 0
Lead / 0
Tin / 0
Molybdenum / 69
Nickel / 0
Manganese / 0
Silver / 0
Titanium / 0
Potassium / 0
Boron / 85
Silicon / 7
Sodium / 5
Calcium / 958
Magnesium / 680
Phosphorus / 794
Zinc / 914
Barium / 0

SUS Viscosity @ 210F / 77.8
cSt Viscosity @ 100C / 14.96
Flashpoint in F / 440
Fuel% / -
Antifreeze% / -
Water% / 0.0
Insolubles% / 0.0

Last edited:
Thank you for the VOA
smile.gif

Looks pretty low on calcium for whatever reason though

I just joined recently--even thought I've been reading these forums for years--and have never done an oil analysis before, so I'm no expert.

Mobil shows 1100ppm for zinc, and 1000 for phosphorous: https://mobiloil.com/~/media/amer/us/pvl/files/pdfs/mobil-1-oil-product-specs-guide-2016.pdf

Is it normal for these number to fluctuate, or am I not understanding the test?

I'm currently using this oil.

There is usually some variance in the numbers so I would say those are close enough to the numbers on the Mobil link.
I had this tested as a reference for future uoas and the latest voa of this oil I could find was from 2011, it doesnt appear to have changed any since then.

Last edited:
Never understood the logic for using combined Calcium & Magnesium detergent systems. There's no synergy between them. It's just laziness and sloppy thinking from the guy that formulated the oil.

Originally Posted By: Popsy
What is better ? Don't you get benefits of both ?

It's a bit like mixing white gloss paint with white matt paint. You end up with something that us subtly different but essentially just white paint!