Where to get an alignment?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nick1994

$100 site donor 2024
I'm replacing the outer tie rods on the Beetle and will need an alignment. Anybody you guys recommend? I've gone to a Fletcher's for my Camry before. I won't take it to Firestone, they did alignments for my mechanic and the monkey there forgot to tighten the nuts on the adjusting collar on tie rods and it ruined a customer's tires and the tie rods almost fell off. They also wouldn't pay for new tires (installed at that same time) or a new alignment. I know every shop may have problems but I won't go to Firestone.

I'd rather not get a $130 dealer alignment.

INDEPENDENT Tire dealer or a small(I mean SMALL LIKE less than five locations) tire dealer.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: Bgallagher
hmm. What about a National Tire and Battery?

I have been using NTB for twenty years. I recommend them. They aren't really any cheaper than anywhere else.

I just did a complete refresh on my Golf's suspension and took it for an alignment at Lesueur car company in Tempe for $80. A little more than Pepboys but they work on a lot of Volkswagens.

Edit: Just noticed that you are only replacing the outer tie rods. When I did mine a couple years ago, I just marked where the originals were at and put the new ones to the same marking. I didn't have any irregular tire wear for 50k miles.

Last edited:
Just do 'em one at a time and test drive after to see if it's straight.

Stick a laser level on your tire bulges at 4 and 8 oclock and aim it rearwards... should just barely miss the rear tires, hitting the ground 1/4-1/2 inch out.

Even if you get a "real" alignment later, this will get you to the store, and you can pat yourself on the back for how close you got the "before" setting.

Originally Posted By: eljefino
Just do 'em one at a time and test drive after to see if it's straight.