Paid My Car Off Early!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: supton
Originally Posted By: Miller88
I graduated college with a few people who had no college debt. They got better jobs than me. But somehow they are always broke. I'm not sure how that works.

I wonder if it is semantics. "Broke" as in they spent their money elsewhere--they maxed out retirement, put some into savings, some into an index fund; and then after rent and food, have "nothing" left to spend frivolities.

Or they just had college paid for and are poor spenders. Can't tell.

Poor spending habits from not having to develop any budgeting skills.

'Course, I'm the complete opposite. I refuse to shop anywhere but a thrift shop for pants and shirts, have free/donated furniture and won't heat my apartment above 55.

I buy my clothes wherever I feel like. Since I'll wear until t has holes I don't feel a need to shop around. Then again I buy a couple pairs of pants a year, outside of socks etc.

Now shoes is something I have yet to figure out. Getting decent everyday shoes to go more than a year has been tough.

I use excel to track my expenses, it's actually been a fairly useful tool to forecast each month's expenses. It's also been a real motivator to work harder and get promoted at work. I'm not quite saving as much as I'd like, and with my expenses being very controlled, the only other alternative is to increase income. Might even start flipping cars again.

I buy most of my clothes from Walmart as well, and the newest pair of every day shoes I own is a pair of Wolverine work boots I bought 8/2013.

I get a $200 allowance for safety work shoes per year so I wear RedWing dress shoes that are slip ons.

Maybe work some OT if it's available if your boss allows it.

Originally Posted By: supton
...Now shoes is something I have yet to figure out. Getting decent everyday shoes to go more than a year has been tough.