Are NJ's Red Light Cameras REALLY off?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Here, (at Clinton Ave and MLK Blvd, down the street from me,) we see a dizzying array of traffic enforcement red light cameras, AND a half globe.

It is not like the older units. It does not need to be on a pole and have a flash anymore.

7b32b825a6f4d40f810d2dad8e04ba31.jpg

some of those are for controlling the traffic lights.

In other words the light stays green in the other direction until you show up on that camera then it triggers the light to change.

Originally Posted By: Rand
some of those are for controlling the traffic lights.

In other words the light stays green in the other direction until you show up on that camera then it triggers the light to change.

I know they have cameras like that in Ohio because I had a motorist in either Westerville or Worthington have to get out of his car and politely tell me how that worked since I was an out-of-state driver and I was sitting at a particular red light literally forever, so I do know that there are cameras like that, but these do change on the regular. Car or no car. They have another timing source.

Originally Posted By: BigCahuna
If even one of those camera's could prevent an accident, I'd be the first to support their use. But the real fact of the matter is , they are just money makers for the towns they are in. Towns that just need money, and decided this is a easy way to get it. What about accidents that occurred at intersections that had the camera installed ?. How did they help anything?.,,

Agreed.
They are a cash cow.
We now have photo radar to go with red light cameras. I think it's bull. The vehicle gets the ticket,not the driver,and that's not fair.
The driver should be ticketed for infractions. Anything else is carp and nothing more than a cash grab.