firearms lubrication article

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hers a link to grantcunningham.com discussing firearms lubrication. I'm a avid shooter and am always looking for the best lubes for my AR, M1A, 1911s, etc. Discuss.

Just want to ad that for the AR I have been using Mobil 1 full synthetic 5w30 as my AR oil. I found that any carbon on the bcg just wipes off and it will disolve carbon in the bore. I shoot often enough that the long-term exposure to air problems that motor oil is supposed to have according to Grant isn't a issue. May be for long-term storage. May not be the best oil to have come in contact with skin.

For grease I have been using Lubriplate 130A for the 1911 slide and the M1A. I tried it on the AR bcg lubing the 4 "rails" and found some cycling issues so I switched back to oil. "ARs like to run wet" is what most everyone says.

Last edited:
I have used almost all fire arm lubes that are commercially available, including syn motor oil and chassis grease. They all have done the job of protecting my handguns and rifles. My favorites are good ol breakfree CLP and syn motor oil cuz it's cheap

50/50 Synthetic motor oil and ATF here for lubrication. I used Supertech 5W-30 and DexIII. My completely unscientific testing indicated that my AR was easier to clean with the ATF added. Why 50/50? It was easier to mix. It's worked well on all of my guns and doesn't burn off quickly like Breakfree CLP does.

I've used plain old white lithium grease on pistol slides with no ill effect.

long time lurker first time posting, but i also use the mix of synthetic oil and atf I use the mercon V atf fluid though

For lubrication I use any decent commercial lube such as Hoppes, Rem-Oil, etc. They do a great lube at lubrication.