How hard is it to install Quick Struts

Status
Not open for further replies.
The Vibe's original rear struts are finally going at 125,000 miles and noticed that Monroe finally makes quick struts for it.

I really want to do this job myself as I have received quotes of 600-750 to install the two rear struts, most of which is labor costs.

I can get both rear quick struts for $265.00, and if I can install them it would save a bunch of money.

Is this job something a beginner could accomplish with the quick struts? Since one does not to have compress a spring it seems pretty straightforward. The most difficult thing I have done car wise is perform a brake job, replace an intake gasket, and put on a new belt tensioner on my Vibe.

Last edited:
It's a joke on the corollas & celicas, that's all I can say. I was a beginner when I attempted it, it's like 5-6 bolts...

Its not hard, read a chilton or hayes book first. Check your model to see if you need an alignment afterwards, many cars will need one, apparently a few don't.
I remove the tires and the brake calipers, and make sure the calipers don't hang by the brake lines, remove the rotor and loosen the large bolts on the strut to knuckle. Sometimes i need a large punch to knock the bolts through the strut. Then three bolts at the top of the strut( leave the center bolt alone!!!! do not loosen this!!!)( the three bolts should be around the strut mount ). Loosen them all but leave the last bolt closest to you for last if you are alone. while holding the strut in one hand take the last nut off and out comes the strut assembly. The quick strut should look like what you just took out. Some cars are different from passenger to driver side.
Just make sure you have supported the car on more that a jack. i use jack stands and i place the tire/wheel under the frame at the door of each side for safety.

Last edited:
also monroe struts are bottomfeeder equipment.

you may have strange issues.. you may not.