99 Jetta 2.0 coolant drain and fill

Status
Not open for further replies.
Family member bought a 99 Jetta 2.0L and I want to go over it and freshen everything up since we don't know the service history and I'll be taking care of this car.

It says it has G12 coolant. I've never worked on a German car before so I have just about every other coolant besides that. I've read to order online since dealer is crazy expensive. Does G12 come in 50/50 mix and also concentrated bottles? I try to by the concentrated bottles and add my own water to save money.

Any special bleeding techniques for this car? I have an airlift and also lisle spill free funnel but with the reservoir tank on this car I will probably just fill "normally" unless you think either of those would work better?

Where is a good place online to order all the OEM fluids for Volkswagens? I'm going to need coolant, ATF, brake fluid, plugs, etc.

If you want to stick to OEM standards, you can also use Zerex G-05, it is a more readily available option.

Thanks guys. Do you know if the G12 stuff comes full strength or is pre diluted 50/50? It was hard to tell from what I've found online. It looks to come full strength but I want to be 100% sure before I order it.

Also is there anything special to filling or bleeding these cars? I didn't see a bleeder screw or anything. I have an airlift and lisle spill free funnel but it looks like I can just dump the fluid in.

Originally Posted By: scott37300
Thanks guys. Do you know if the G12 stuff comes full strength or is pre diluted 50/50? It was hard to tell from what I've found online. It looks to come full strength but I want to be 100% sure before I order it.

Also is there anything special to filling or bleeding these cars? I didn't see a bleeder screw or anything. I have an airlift and lisle spill free funnel but it looks like I can just dump the fluid in.