How bad is short tripping for a diesel engine?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Is it basically similar to short tripping a gasoline engine, i.e. you get fuel dilution and moisture accumulation in the crank case? Or are there additional aspects to consider? I am a total diesel engine newbie.

Wife has a fairly short commute - about 3 miles each way. In the winter time, in her current gasoline engine car, coolant doesn't get up to normal temp, much less oil. The car does see an extended 200-mile hwy trip once or twice per month.

Back in the day, I've read diesel engines take longer to reach operating temp, but I'm not sure if this was accurate and if so, if it's still true today. Obviously, any possible MPG gains from a diesel would be lost if it's not running at operating temp.

Anyway, no particular diesel car/engine in mind at this point. I'm just trying to educate myself if there are some specific driving patterns/conditions where a modern diesel engine would not be advisable.

Thanks!

Some diesels warm up faster than others-my intercooled ones warm up more slowly than the old IDI N/A ones do. In my opinion, at least with pickups, it is much better to work them hard & get them hot, short trips tend to carbon load.

I've got a 2014 BMW 328d (fantastic car - 43-46 mpg urban/city, 51 mpg hwy, and a hoot to drive). It doesn't have a coolant temp gauge but does have oil temp. gauge. I haven't noticed any difference at all between warm up time for this car and other gas BMW's in same trip - - and I do pay close attention to the oil temps, always after a cold start drive it 'til the temp is up to normal (210 degrees) before I shut it down, even if that means going the long way around. I do that, but I'd never be able to convince my wife to do that.