2012 Ram 3500 6.7 Cummins

Status
Not open for further replies.
First sample I have ever had done. Thought I would share. This is the second oil change for the truck. Oil used is Valvoline Premium Blue 15W/40

oilreport.jpg

I usually wait until an OCI that starts after 20K to do a UOA. Before then it could be anything.

I prefer UOAs that provide oxidation and nitration.

Thanks for sharing.

There is nothing but break-in wear here; this is not data that can be used to establish any range or trend.

On the positive side, contaminants look well in control.

I would OCI at 10k miles and again at 15k miles. The goal would be to flush out the break-in metals. Don't even both with a UOA for these next few OCIs; waste of money.

Stick with the VPB; excellent product and reduces variables for future UOA trending.

At 15k miles, start doing 7.5k mile OCIs, and then start your UOA data tracking.

I'm a journeyman diesel mechanic at UPS. The yard shifter trucks use a de-tuned version of the 5.9 or 6.7 Cummings depending on the year. Those engines can last seemingly forever. Keep in mind if you ever have a fuel system issue, don't drive it and get it fixed. Cylinder wash down is the only thing that has ruined these engines in our industrial application.

That's great to hear. My main concern with the 6.7 cummins was possible fuel dillution. From the regen process. But I think with my driving routine it's not going to be an issue (knock on wood).

Thanks for sharing your reports!

I've never tested any of my diesels that low in mileage so I don't know if that aluminum number is normal at that stage or not (referring to the latest report). It looks like the engine is coming along nicely, though.

I don't blame you for saving money with delo 400. It'll do very well for you.

Yeah that's the plan. Trying to get off the synthetic kick. It was real popular when I first started buying vehicles. Got drawed into it and just now trying to not waste money.
hooked.gif