I Have an Interview with an Oil Company Tonight

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm an accountant by trade, and I have an initial phone interview with a company that blends oil for their own lines and contract customers. They are also into automotive parts on the wholesale side. Google can probably tell you who it is by my location, but I ask that you don't mention it in this thread. Thanks.

My only question is, do I mention that I'm a member here at BITOG or do I save that little fact for the negotiation process?
wink.gif

Actually, this has me a little excited as I've always been into cars and automotive maintenance. That's the reason that I found this place, and now I'm a full blown case of oil OCD on top of it. This is a job that I would really be passionate about the products the company sells, which I will be certain to mention during the "why are you looking for a new job" portion of the interview.

Here's hoping that I can say exactly what the HR director wants to hear.

I might mention it if it's entry level since it shows some passion about the job which many applicants don't have. Sets you apart from the others which is very important. I'd mention how long you've been on here and the number of posts.

Congrats and good luck on the interview. just be yourself and energetic. they must have like something on your resume / application. any chance you can score me a discount once you get it ....just kidding lol !

I would not mention BITOG. Do you belong to any professional organisations? SAE? IEEE? ASME?

If I frequented NORIA I might casually mention it but not BITOG.

Don't mention BITOG. They may worry you may spill trade secrets.

I'd take the audi and mention it's running Edge, however. Bring a picture on your phone.

But will you be doing accountant type work there? They may want "boring".