BMW E30 - Mobil 1 confusion

Status
Not open for further replies.
Alright, first off I would like to start by apologizing. I'm almost POSITIVE the answer to this question must be in here, but I can't get the search function to work. If you don't feel like reading all this, the question is at the end.
blush.gif

Just for some background...My name is Mike, and I drive a 1987 BMW 325i with around 150kmi. I currently run a vintage race shop with my Dad and occasionally get to race a 1965 Lotus Cortina as a test driver (I have Youtube videos if anyone is interested!) I live in New York and drive my car all year. The car always warms up fully when I drive it. I currently use Mobil 1 15W-50 as per the "Million Mile Challenge," good specs, and good will from my Dad. I started learning about oil yesterday perusing a BMW subforum that discussed different oil choices. I was directed to the "Motor Oil 101" listed on this site and it was a great read. I had no idea how to actually read the numbers on different oils, what they mean, conventional vs. synthetic, etc.

It inspired me to look at the Mobil Oil website and see what they recommended for my car. That is where I started to get confused.

The website suggested I use Mobil 1 0W-40 for my car. From what I read, the 0W is great for cold starting, the oil still has 1000/1100ppm of Phosphorous and Zinc, and it appears to be pretty popular. Is this a good idea for a car like mine however? I'm concerned that the motor's age and mileage, as well as my location, could mean a "thinner" oil (40 weight vs. 50) would be a bad choice under regular operating conditions. Also, is 1000/1100 enough ZDDP for an older motor such as mine? I know the 15W-50 has more, but I've read that older engines need at least 800ppm so both meet the requirement.

I'm sorry I started to ramble, but I wanted to be as complete as possible right off the bat. I hope someone can help me continue learning about how all this works!