Technology is destroying the world

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was once in a position where I was talking to California eco-types, who asked what I did for a living. They scoffed at me personally when I told them I was an automotive engineer. They pointed out all the pollution the industry creates.

I had to remind them that nobody put a gun to their heads and told them they had to buy cars or any other technology. Society as a whole embraced cars and decided it is better than horses. They have a choice on whether to embrace technology or ignore it.

They also have a choice on creating their own automotive industry that is easier on the environment, if they so choose.

It's so easy to criticize. It's difficult to get off your duff and do something about it. Not many people appreciate the earth-friendly efforts that go on in the manufacturing industry.

Good point, but the attitude isn't helping the cause.
"Slave-tards"?

But to his point, there was a great documentary on last night about how technology "such as GPS" is turning us into stimulus response learners (like pavlovs dogs), rather than utilizing cognitive learning (like intelligent human beings), which requires thinking, rationalization and criticism.

The difference? If we subject ourselves to stimulus response learning too much (as in our modern western society geared towards obedience), the part of our brain responsible for cognitive learning- the hippocampus- begins to atrophy! The hippocampus is the first area of the brain to suffer in demential related illnesses, such as alz.

When we're trained too much in stimulus response, not only does the hippocampus atrophy, but the 'caudate nucleus' which is what allows us to be "trained" or essentially "mind controlled" becomes disproportionately developed.

The resulting changes to human psychology are not hard to imagine.