Oil Recommendations for 03 Corolla ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,

I recently got a 2003 Corolla S with 70k miles and I want to treat it right. I want it to last. My Toyota manual indicates I should use 5w30 dino every 7.5k. Cool. But would synthetic be better? And what about this engine apparently being "backspec'd" to 5w20? My dipstick has some staining on it. Does that indicate anything about what oil I should use? These are my questions.

My info as per the sticky:
  1. 2003 Corolla S, 70k miles
  2. Oil specs from manual: SAE 5w30, "API grade SL "Energy-Conserving" or ILSAC multigrade engine oil is recommended"
  3. I live in FL but will travel to NC this winter (lows down to 20 F)
  4. I'm an easy driver, cautious and economical
  5. My daily commute is 9 miles round trip, but I sometimes take a 500 mile weekend round trip.
  6. My car has no known problems.

My questions:
  1. My dipstick has some staining on it. Does this indicate I should use a certain kind of oil? Maybe something with high mileage or cleaning additives?
  2. According to Bob's Oil 101, lower start-up viscosity can only be advantageous, so is there any reason for me not to use 0w30 instead of 5w30?
  3. With the whole "backspec'd to 5w20 issue, I get the feeling that 5w30 may still be the way to go. Toyota also recommends to stick with 5w30 for my year.
  4. Finally, it sounds like synthetic is better for engines. Any arguments for/against spending the extra $12 at Walmart to get a decent synthetic?

If no feedback suggests otherwise, my plan is to go to Walmart and get some Pennzoil Platium (5qt) or some Mobil 1 High Mileage (5qt) 5w30 for ~$27. I'll be using a Purolater PureONE filter.