Wheel bearing issues? Please give me your 2 cents

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone, have a 2004 Mazda 3 and wanted to get your opinions. Car has 100k on it, and is on stock suspension, struts and shocks were replaced around 80k. Suspension has been great since, now I am getting a low creaking noise in the rear suspension at certain times, not necessarily over all bumps, some turns, etc. Checked swaybar endlinks, tight. Bushings are good, no play in the swaybar. I feel it may be the wheel bearings, which I admit I have no knowledge in besides merely google knowledge. The first video linked is my rear driver wheel at rotation, with an obvious sound. The second video is my rear passenger wheel at rotation, with seemingly no or very little sound. My last video is the front tires, shaking the tire left to right. Is that noise normal? Please let me know your opinion. All wheel bearings and Tie Rods are original. Seeing I'm at 9 years and 100,000 I may just get these all taken care of as I really enjoy the car. Video's are linked below.

Wheel Bearing - Youtube

Normal Wheel Bearing - Youtube

Tie Rod - Youtube

Last edited:
bearings, when bad, shall make rumbling noise (dependent to the rotation of the wheel, the higher the RPM, the louder the noise will be).

creaking noise typically comes from rubber-related suspension parts, sometimes may even associate with sway-bar end links and/or struts.

Given the mileage you have and the area you operate your vehicle, I believe you need some rear suspension work done in order to alleviate this "creaking" sound...things like replacing all the sway bar bushings, replace sway bar end links and/or struts and see how that works out?

Q.

The play in the steering is noise from the steering rack IMO. I could not hear the rear wheel bearing to determine the cause of the noise. It seems to rotate smoothly. FWIW--Oldtommy