Seeking advice from Bull experts: '03 Taurus

Status
Not open for further replies.
So, the lady got a 2003 Ford Taurus SES Deluxe with the 3.0 Duratec recently. I don't know much about the Taurus, having never driven one before hers.

It's in good shape, considering it just hit 152K miles. A little paint peeling on the hood, the wheels look like they've seen plenty of outdoor duty and probably salt, but mechanically it seems sound to me. As I said, I am no Taurus expert.

Anything in particular to look out for with this car?

Thanks.

In general, decent platform. Look for degraded vacuum hose ends (molded rubber elbows) and various other vacuum related hoses. They like to rot out and kick lean codes. Ford has some updated parts available. The engine isn't the easiest to work on either...

Look for broken springs in the strut assemblies as well as bad sway bar end links.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: The_Eric
In general, descent platform. Look for degraded vacuum hose ends (molded rubber elbows) and various other vacuum related hoses. They like to rot out and kick lean codes. Ford has some updated parts available. The engine isn't the easiest to work on either...

Look for broken springs in the strut assemblies as well as bad sway bar end links.

The Eric pretty much summed it up on the Taurus. Degraded vacuum hoses from Ford are notorious for throwing P0171 & PP0174 codes. As preventative maintenance I would change all fluid and give it a nice tune up. Spark plugs can be a pain as the upper manifold needs to come off in order to reach the rear plugs. Give the MAF a good solid cleaning with electrical spray as well. These were decent cars (boring) but made very good daily drivers.

Originally Posted By: gregk24
Watch out for the transmission. They like to [censored] out early

Gregk25 has a point , perhaps a auxiliary Trans cooler and a few drain and fills would be a good idea.