2013 Toyota Tundra Oil Recommendations

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am the proud new owner of a 2013 Toyota Tundra, and I must say it is one of the nicest vehicles I have owned. I need opinions on oil, I will switch to synthetic around 1000 miles (I have 7 on it now) but it uses a grade (0w-20) that I have very little experience with. I have always used Mobil 1, but they do not list an oil of this grade so I am open to switch to a different brand. It has the 5.7L V-8, and will be used as a truck, often towing my 26' fishing boat. Thanks in advance for your suggestions!

Hi Binky,

Use Toyota 0w20, it's top shelf oil. One of the best around. Many Honda guys and owners of other makes use it in their cars and trucks with excellent results. Plus you probably already have full synthetic in there now.

Congrats on the truck I have been using Quacker State synthetic 0w20 for the last 20,000 on my truck with zero problems. I love my Tundra good luck with it

One more thing buy the metal oil filter cap wrench from Toyota to take the housing off for the oil filter don't mess with that. It's not hard to do the oil it's just a long process

Your Tundra may have came with the Toyota Genuine 0W-20 (or TGMO as it's called around here) from the factory (of course you have already done one OCI so it's been dumped). The non-severe service schedule would be 10,000 miles or 1 year when using TGMO 0W-20.

Originally Posted By: FZ1
Buy the oil at WM. Mobil 1 is a lot cheaper than Toyota oil.

I just bought some Toyota 0W-20 synthetic at the dealer for my Toyota Land Cruiser with the 5.7L engine and it was $4.95 per quart.

I highly recommend this Toyota oil to the OP for his Tundra
thumbsup2.gif

Sure, Mobil 1 0W-20 AFE is approx. $23 per 5 quart jug (about $4.60/quart) at Wal-Mart so it is a little cheaper, but not "a lot cheaper than Toyota Oil."