Fram Ultra / Purolator Pure One

Status
Not open for further replies.
So im planning on doing my first oil change (myself, as opposed to the mechanic). And im wondering what filter I should use...Ive narrowed it down to Fram Ultra or Purolator PureOne...I like the Fram Ultra because it has synthetic media but im afraid it has poor oil flow because of the fact that its dual layer...Im also considering Purolator PureOne...Just want to know which will have better oil flow. Im new to oil filters and oil changes. ALSO, should i use Castrol Edge, or Mobil 1. The mechanics have used edge in my car for my oil changes, but if Mobil 1 is better ill be glad to switch, i want the BEST cold/dry start/short trip protection. including the filter. please share your knowledge/recommendation. Im still a newbie to all of this =P

Originally Posted By: michaelluscher
If you want pureone flow but good quality media.
Puro Syn?

Well, i saw that one and its too expensive for me....i just need something for 5000 miles, does the fram ultra have good flow? or would the PureOne have better flow? Really i need the best cold start/short trip protection. thats all my car sees really

You seem to be bent on flow.
Unless your using 20w-50 in a 4 cylinder Honda, the flow between a PureONE and a fram ultra is negligible.
I'm partial to the Purolator as they can be had on amazon for under $6.

Originally Posted By: 147_Grain
With the correct weight of oil, flow is a non-issue.