Mobil 1 VS Valvoline Synpower Gear Oil

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello BITOG friends,

I am no expert in gear oils, so I thought this might be a good time for some questions. I need to change fluids in my 95 Wrangler. I always hear about Mobil 1, but I was curious about the Valvoline Synpower 75w90 gear oil also. I am looking for the best synthetic for my axles. Dana 30 front, and Dana 35 rear pushing 265/75/r16 tires. I do normal driving, and some trails. No crazy off-roading or rock crawling.

If anyone has a better recommendation please feel free to chime in. I do not want to go overboard in price. I know there are some expensive gear oils out there I am sure.

Thanks for looking and for any help!

Last edited:
I tried M1 in mine and it made it noisy. Amsoil made it smooth as silk and silent. That`s my recommendation. Imo,Amsoil`s gear oils are the best. I`m using Amsoil AGL. Their Severe Gear is their top of the line,I think,right?

Last edited:
I'm running the Synpower 75W-140 in my truck and it seems to be working great. I would have gone with Mobil 1, but in 75W-140 it was $21 and the Synpower was $13. Big difference when I needed 4 quarts of it.

Originally Posted By: aquariuscsm
I tried M1 in mine and it made it noisy. Amsoil made it smooth as silk and silent. That's my recommendation. Imo, Amsoil's gear oils are the best. I'm using Amsoil AGL. Their Severe Gear is their top of the line,I think, right?

Amsoil differential fluid is one of the best, if not the best. It may cost a little more than others, about the same as Redline, but the cost different divided for 4-5 years is less than a quarter a month, or a penny a day.

I currently have syn power 75/90 in the rear of my Silverado. Don't notice any difference between it and the amsoil svg that was in there previously. Needed gear lube in a pinch and the Valvoline was a good price.