1998 BMW M3 ll-01 Oil options

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone:
I have been reading the forums online and have found this one to likely be the best place to get the answer to my question. I have a 1998 BMW M3 (E36 S52 3.2 L engine) with about 108,000 miles on it and just did a complete Schedule II maintenance on it including dropping and changing all the fluids. I have been using Mobile 1 0w-40 for the past 3 years since buying the car and change it every 10,000 miles with a filter change at 5,000. I drive aggressively, but rarely over 80mph, I drive only about 10,000 miles per year, and most is city driving under 50mph. We rarely get below 0 degrees Fahrenheit or above 90 degrees Fahrenheit here in Michigan. You can guess my next question...what BMW LL-01 would be the "best" for my situation? Best = protects my car #1 and suitable to my driving/weather conditions. I feel the Mobil 1 is starting to burn a bit more as the car ages and I don't mind spending more to protect my baby...cost is not a major concern. Other possible options I have tried to research would be Motul 8100 Xcess, Pentosin Pento High Performance 5w-30, or of course the OEM oil from BMW.
Thoughts?

Welcome to BITOG!

You wont find a better oil than M1 0/40. Its very highly respected here.

You said its using oil, just how much is it using?

If I were to try anything else, it would be Pennzoil Ultra 5/40. Its a close second

Yes it's hard to find anything better than M1 0W-40 for the money. As mentioned PU 5W-40 (or PU 0W-40) would be a good alternative but only if you can source it for less than M1.