PF47 Filter or no?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Gang,

My son just bought a 2013 Chevrolet 1500 with the 4.3L V6. While reading the owner's manual I see that it uses a PF47 oil filter. I have no problem using OEM filters if they are of reasonably good construction, but it has been many years since I have owned a GM so I have no recent experience with them.

GM guys/gals--what say you? Obviously, there is a warranty to be concerned with, but I am just curious if the OEM filter is a good choice or should we look to another brand?

TIA!

PF47 classic filter is a decent filter. A lot of people on here don't like the new ecore acdelco filters, which is PF47e for the 4.3l.

If you want to go to a better filter, Purolator would be a good filter. I personally run the Pure one filter PL10111, but you can get the Purolator Classic L10111 at Walmart for less than the ACdelco filter and have a better quality filter.

Last edited:
There are now PF47 and PF47E filters. The E are ecore, a nylon center cage instead of a metal tube. GM will honor the warranty on either; I'm sure the dealers use the ecores. A decent filter to do the job; personal preference on how much you want to spend.

Stay away from the ecore version if you have the choice.

I would use the PF-52s. My Equinox had 47s and the 52 is identical in every way to the 47 but is a little longer and has more filter media. Lots of people use it without any issues. They made the 47 because of size constrictions in todays "congested" engine bays but a 1500 with the 4.3 is going to be cavernous in the engine bay.

I will also echo what people said in get the classics. The Ecores are smaller and garbage compared to the classics. Try rockauto.com. I searched for a 92 Chevy Blazer and bought 6 PF-52 classics to offset the shipping.

AAP for one has the AC Delco classics. We have two Chevy's that spec PF-47's I run PF-52 equivalents on them as well BUT you're under warranty don't do it.