Diesel gel point

Status
Not open for further replies.
As I'm new to the diesel world I still have a lot of questions this time about the gel point. With winter on the horizon I, wondering at what temp should one be concered about diesel geling. What would be a good additive to use to prevent this or keep diesel "good" during the cold months?

Thanks again.

Your fuel supplier should be winterizing diesel as necessary for your climate. If you're going to have a sudden extremely cold period, most of the off-the-shelf antigels work well. I would also make a point of filling up at high turnover stations - follow the big rigs!

Power Service in the white bottle and Howes Diesel Treat both work well for that application as well as boosting cetane number & handling free water.

FWIW, I have never had a gelling issue with either of my TDIs running on B11. And I think you'll find we get much colder for longer in Chicago than does Spokane.

I would recommend Howes diesel treatment. Its worked better for us than powerservice products. You should be OK in washington. Biodiesel is usually not a problem but it depends on what basestock the biodiesel was made out of. Some places use animal fats other than grains (canola/soybeans) to make it and it has a much higher gelling and CFPP than other bast stocks. We had a batch of B2 that we were having problems with, found out the biodiesel was animal fat based. The paraffin was seperating out and plugging up our filters.

Last edited:
Go to a service station that fills up big trucks; the fuel doesn't stay long, so it gets winterized properly. The only gelling instance I had was filling at a lightly used Shell station; once I got it fired up I dumped a bunch of PS in and never had an issue again (I also went to a different station from then on).