Airbus A320 electrical failures

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: Astro14
I was an instructor in the F-14 as well...I taught, among many things like tactics and weapons, carrier landings...and the pressure of night carrier landings really highlighted the variability of human performance under stressful conditions.

I've got some stories on that score...

I'll bet you do. You are a very accomplished aviator, no doubt.

Originally Posted By: Astro14

It's my opinion that pilots should be exposed to stalls and spins to really understand how wings and flight works. The FAA has removed that requirement for a private license

Whoa whoa whoa wait.. the FAA took out stalls in private pilot testing??? [censored] Way back when my instructor had me doing spins when I was getting my private.
shocked2.gif

I never got a private, but I've got an ATP with a couple of type-ratings now...Uncle Sam paid for my initial training, and we did lots, and lots, of spins in the T-34 and T-2...and all Naval Aviators know that while stall speed can vary with density altitude, load factor and gross weight, stall AOA remains the same...

My understanding of the practical standards for a private pilot now is that spins are discussed, but not required or flown (not since the 50s or something) and stalls are really more of an approach to stall...focusing primarily on recognition, not on what we used to do in the Navy...but again, I have not flown the checkride to really know the PTS...