Gen Tent

Status
Not open for further replies.
I found this product on line because I was looking for some kind of protection when using my generator in the rain.It is called Gen Tent, and the president Mark Carpenter is a terrific guy. He was so helpful with my question`s before I bought it. You see I am new to this portable generator stuff (the gen sets in the army were totally different) and after We bought our`s I figured I`d ask the Honda dealer if it is safe to use it in the rain. I had forgotten to ask him the day I picked it up. Any way, he replied ABSOLUTELY NOT!! It is not designed for use in the rain. I thought to myself huh, that seems pretty stupid. I mean your not always going to be operating this thing in clear weather. Hence my search for protection, and found Gen Tent. Now I can use it in all sort of weather.
smile.gif
Figured I`d share my find with you guy`s who have been wondering how to safely operate your gen in foul weather.

Ryan

P.S I`m not involved with Mark in any way other than buying this product. Not trying to sell this product, just wanted to put the word out there for you guy`s Since I am very satisfied.

Last edited:
The item is this

I simply made a small enclosure using 2x4 tied into a frame and a tarp from Harbor Freight. Cost of materials under 50.

I have an 3 year old china made 2200 watt, 3.9 gal gas unit. I covered it up with a large plastic tub from wally world and put bungie cords on it and it held up.. It must have over a 100,000 miles on it when it was on my van, rain, snow and pot holes. It was mounted on a platform on van, rear bumper, sever use to say the least.

LOL! Wow.. I guess a really nice generator needs a really nice bonnet.

The cost of the "Gen Tent" is more than some import gen sets themselves!

If anything, I'll throw the picnic table (or the likes) over the top of mine for protection.

Joel

Well, There is a difference between "It works" and "It works and looks good!"