Ethanol eventually to be replaced by isobutanol?

Status
Not open for further replies.
First and foremost, this is not a ethanol bashing, food vs fuel, or political thread.

Since most ethanol plants are not in the black this year and most are in the red, a lot of the plants will be idling back production or shutting down towards the end of this year. There has been some talk, though, to take those plants and stop making ethanol. Through a few modifications to the process these plants can make isobutanol. Isobutanol is supposedly to have more BTU and more energy than ethanol as they did not notice any difference in a iso/gas blend when compared a 100% gasoline. 76,000 BTU/gal (ethanol) vs 96000 BTU/gal for isobutanol.

I'm no expert on this but I found this interesting and wanted to share. Hopefully there are some people who know more about isobutanol.

http://www1.eere.energy.gov/biomass/pdfs/Biomass_2009_Adv_Biofuels_II_Glassner.pdf

http://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20...s-Small-Engines

http://www.hydrocarbonprocessing.com/Art...ll-engines.html

Hopefully in the future we can use waste biomass to make all these fuels and get away from corn.

Last edited:
There are plenty of things that can be used for ethanol or iso other than corn. Byproducts or other waste.

Because the US does not export as much corn as we use to, other countries have grown corn to make up for the shortfall, and in some cases cut down rainforest to make room for fields.

Dumb and dumber.

The way the drought is looking in much of the US, we are going to see record corn prices. I've heard $10/bushel.

This will either drive the price of Ethanol up big time or bankrupt the Ethanol industry. This is going to get interesting.

This situation might expedite the switch to isobutanol.

Last edited: