New slave cylinder, correct re-assembly help?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Today, I received the replacement slave cylinder in the mail for my Civic.

The replacement comes with the sliding pin(?) dis-assembled and I'm curious as to the type of lube to use and I need to know the correct method of getting it ready to be installed on the vehicle.

I'm aware perhaps a dab of anti-siece on the tip that contacts the clutch fork is sometimes helpful, but what about the pin itself? I don't know whether or not I should even bother removing the rubber boot to lube inside or lube the pin and insert it carefully while it is still attached to the cylinder itself. Any tips on assembly lube I can buy at an auto parts store for this? I've never done this before, and didn't know this particular aftermarket would come this way.

For those interested, it is an EXEDY SC646 and they do make quality parts for Japanese made/origin apps.

If the sliding pin you're talking about is the pushrod, lube the end that pushes the fork with a high moly grease or ceramic lube marketed for use on brakes or input shaft splines. If the pushrod is threaded for adjustment, lube the threads with (insert corrosion inhibitor or antiseize of choice here) as suits personal preference. Any other parts may be lubed only with clutch hydraulic fluid which I would assume is DOT3 or DOT4 brake fluid.

Yes, it's the pushrod that inserts into the slave's shaft which is used to actuate the fork > release/throw out bearing.

The replacement slave I purchased arrived today with the pushrod not installed, so my questions have been what parts to lube with what and also 'how' to install into the shaft of the slave cylinder(the pushrod that is).

So, inside the shaft use brake fluid(I had read assembly lube elsewhere), it is just a sliding pin/pushrod not threaded into the slave's shaft AFAIK.

Unlike the pushrod at the master cylinder; mind you, which is threaded.