Gun Butter... any good?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: Mystic
Well I am no expert on gun lubrication-I am just an ordinary guy who has tried a lot of different gun lubes. I did try Gun Butter.

I did not like the stuff. It has been quite a well since I tried it but if I remember correctly it was like putting honey on the gun surfaces. And a tiny little bottle of the stuff is really expensive.

That professional gunsmith recommended Breakfree. I have observed that a lot of professional gunsmiths seem to prefer Breakfree.

The people I shoot with seem to typically use a gun lube like RemOil, Breakfree, or Hoppes Elite. I feel RemOil is a little thin but a lot of people I know use it. I have obtained good results using Breakfree except for one gun I owned in the past that seemed to malfunction with Breakfree. I have tried other stuff like Bichwood Casey gun oil that seems to work well and Ballistol. Ballistol has a strange smell but it will clean and lube a gun.

After I tried a very large number of products I pretty much decided that there were no magic gun lubes and Breakfree was pretty much as good as anything else. And I can get it locally. I got tired of trying to find the magic gun oil that would stop all wear, allow no rust, and suddenly make any shooter a professional.

Gee, Haven't we heard all this just recently??? Yes, we have. Why? Because the old standby's are old standby's for a reason, they just work! "Wonder" gun lubes come and go for a reason, they are too expensive and don't live up to their claims. I am especially seeing this with frog lube right now. Last year, the internet and gun community exploded with this stuff (raving about how great it is, hype) and it is already beginning to fizzle out. lol People are angry because it doesn't protect from rust or lubricate half as well as the advertising claims, it's also very expensive and not compatible with any petroleum product.