Toyota RAV 4 oil confusion

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, Newbie here first post. Please excuse any lapses in protocol. When I bought my 2011 RAV4 the sales manager mistakenly told me the V6 came with synthetic, it doesn't. The oil filler cap is labeled 5W-30. Identical(?) Toyota engines of the same displacement in other models use synthetic. What can be the difference? After 1K or so I switched to Toyota synthetic, and now at 26,000 km I use 0W-20. Any comments or information? Thanks.

The 2GR-FE 3.5 V6 spec's 6.4 quarts of 5w30.
0w20 is for the 2AR-FE 2.5L 4Cylinder
Quote taken from the 2011 Rav 4 Owner's manual:
(I have access to Toyota's manual database)
3.5 L V6 (2GR-FE) engine
SAE 5W-30
SAE 5W-30 is the best choice for good fuel economy and good starting in cold weather.
If SAE 5W-30 is not available, SAE 10W-30 oil may be used. However, it should be replaced with SAE 5W-30 at the next oil change.

You can use Conventional or Synthetic 5w30
Pennzoil seems to be the darling oil of the forum, but All of the name brand API rated oils are excellent.
I personaly use Pennzoil Ultra in my friends RX330, and Quaker State Ultimate Durability Syn in my Wife's 2010 Camry as it is cheaper.

You can use any 0w or 5w you wish. Wont be a big difference between synthetic and dino in your engine. It will run forever on either one. Either Pennzoil Platinum or Yellow bottle (conventional) would be great.

Welcome!

welcome2.gif

Originally Posted By: Percyiris
Toyota engines of the same displacement in other models use synthetic. What can be the difference?

There are huge differences outside the engine: different weights in different models, different load and towing limits, some models have oil cooler, some don't.

Toyota decided that 0W20 would be too thin at temps if you loaded your RAV4 up to the limits.

I agree that 0W20 would be probably OK for non-towing crowd, especially for short trip city driving (90% of owners?).