Just Bought My Dream Car

Status
Not open for further replies.
I don't use LL04 oil in the X5 35d because it has VERY unsatisfactory TBN retention and corresponding high wear numbers, I believe to excess acid buildup. LL04 oil is a typical 229.51 oil. The official Mercedes Operating Fluids website which I keep referring to and keep suggesting you look at gave me the idea to use a 228.5/51 oil in the X5.
Just look at it! It IS an official MB publication! You don't need to be an engineer to understand it. The page I referred to just gives a list of approved oils for, for example, the 642 engine.

Charlie

Originally Posted By: JimFitzpatrick
Originally Posted By: m37charlie
Trying not to get aggressive, but have you looked at the Mercedes Operating Fluid Specifications?. And good luck with 229.51 fluids, if you do a UOA you will find that TBN is severely depleted after 10K miles.

I haven't looked at the specs and,given that I'm a rank amateur when it comes to chemical (and mechanical) engineering,it probably wouldn't do much good if I did.I hope to keep my Bluetec for 75K miles (or more) so one thing I'm planning to do is double up on MB's OC requirements....6 months or 5K miles.I'll be sticking with whatever oil MB requires for as long as it's under warranty (4 years,50K miles).After that I might consider other options if knowledgeable folks reccomend them.

And just out of curiosity I see in your sig that you have a BMW diesel.My previous ride was a 335d so I'm familiar with BMW's "LL-04" oil spec which,it would seem,is *very* similar to MB's 229.51.Do you use "LL-04" spec oil in your BMW diesel?

the 228 spec is for benz diesel trucks and is similar to 229 however with your intended oci there is no reason to stray. Don't forget SLX can be had for 6.50

Jim,

A site like http://www.idparts.com will have many 5 l. choices for an oil that meets MB 229.51 if that is your need.

idparts is big with the VW crowd.