POA vs GTL vs GROUP III

Status
Not open for further replies.
Isnt PAO a GTL Oil process?
I have read on the net Group3,+ clean the engine better and PAOs protect the surfaces better thats why a blend is best.
I am no expert just my 2 cents.

Last edited:
POE Oils are used in aircraft engines and sealed compressor units.
I read a post here saying PAOs are better than POEs in Automobiles engines because they handle moisture, fuel dilution and compatibility better.
Its a comment from the Mobil website.
http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=51547

Q: Red Line Oil claims to have 100 percent polyolester base stocks. Are these different or better than the base stocks used in Mobil 1 with SuperSyn™?

A: We are very familiar with polyolesters. In fact, we manufacture them and use them in our aviation jet engine oils such as Mobil Jet Oil II® and Mobil Jet Oil 254® and in our refrigeration compressor lubricants, where the polyolesters are utilized for their compatibility with new HFC refrigerants. Polyolesters are indeed excellent at high-temperature oxidation stability and low volatility.

However, our work on automobile engines and jet engine designs has shown that polyalphaolefins (PAOs) offer the best all-around performance for gasoline engines due to their:

* Being completely compatible with conventional oils and gasoline engine seals.
* Providing both low- and high-temperature performance.
* Providing a stable oil in the presence of water and moisture.
* Having anti-rust capabilities.

Last edited:
Is a "long drain" what happens after a consuming a case followed by that too long drive home?
How would you have a choice in basestock as you dont know typ and are unable to assess the OEM basestock blend with any certainty?

Originally Posted By: Koz1

However, our work on automobile engines and jet engine designs has shown that polyalphaolefins (PAOs) offer the best all-around performance for gasoline engines due to their: ...